Album Review: Baest – Necro Sapiens (Century Media Records)

Danish death metal band, Baest, will release their new studio album, Necro Sapiens on March 5th, 2021 via Century Media Records.

The band comments:

Necro Sapiens is ultimately the most Baest-sounding record. The influences are there, but this is by far the record, where we sound the most like ourselves. The best Baest there is!

The best Baest there is…. apt words as what the beastly unit bring us here is a death metal classic for the modern times. A beast with rabies, frothing at the mouth and with a taste for blood. The assault begins in sheer terror and flagrant horror and doesn’t stop once across the 45 minutes that make up the album length.

That’s a hell of a lot of noise, a hell of a lot of bang for your buck and Baest make sure to reward your investment. Throwing their all into delivering a hefty amount of coarse death metal groove, mucky sounding riffs, rasping hostile vocals, thrashing percussion and more. It’s near impossible to deny the desperation that grows to just let loose and head-bang yourself into a stupor.

Buy Me a Coffee at

…and why the hell not? Baest aren’t just encouraging it, they’re the instigators. The antagonistic and hard-hitting rhythm of the title track, the brutalising bluntness of Abattoir, the feverish frenzy of saliva and bile that is Goregasm, and the sharp and throbbing pace of Meathook Massacre.

This is the stuff nightmares are made of. The stuff that you wake up in a sweat hearing in the peripheral of your mind. The stuff that makes you look away from the shadows and hug your loved ones closer.

It’s also the stuff that you’ll find yourself loving every second off. The dark side of the mind awakening with a blood-curdling grin. This truly is the best of the beast, the best of Baest.

Baest – Necro Sapiens Full Track Listing:

1. The Forge
2. Genesis
3. Necro Sapiens
4. Czar
5. Abattoir
6. Goregasm
7. Towers of Suffocation
8. Purification Through Mutilation
9. Meathook Massacre
10. Sea of Vomit


Website | Facebook


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Baest – Necro Sapiens (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
9.5/10 (3 votes)