Album Review: Arallu – En Olam (Satanath Records)

Arallu, the Middle Eastern blackened thrash/death metal band are back with their brand new album, En Olam. Released on the 22nd of September 2019 via Satanath Records.

Always a reason to get excited, Arallu return with an absolute corker of a release. 10 tracks of crushing brutality that has all their familiar elements but also has a strong developed edge showcasing progression since we last reviewed their music.

Erupting with The Center of the Unknown, after so many years you’d think Arallu might be at an age where they’re beginning to mellow. That’s so not the case with this opening track and the twisted cackle that crops up is gleefully evil.

Really utilising some of their more Middle Eastern sounds, mixing wonderfully well with the crunchy metal; the title track is a highlight. Before Devil’s Child absolutely flattens with some proper old school blackened death noise.

Mind you, you’ve not heard anything until you’ve heard the thrashing lunacy of Guard of She’ol. A personal favourite of the album as it is just so intense. Although the heavy as balls riffing of Prophet’s Path and savagery of Unholy Stone do the job too.

Of course, if you’re looking for more thought-provoking stuff, Arullu have it too. The cold and calculating Vortex of Emotions is the stuff nightmares are made of. Also Trail By Slaves has a wonderful switch up that expands and contorts impressively.

The icing on the cake though is Spells. An enormous finale that keeps things tight and short but still delivers some huge knockout punches. The Middle-Eastern instruments sounding utterly huge alongside a killer drum beat and riffs weighted in gold.

I can’t say it’s Arallu’s best work as I’ve not heard everything they’ve done but going off what I have, this is a level above.

Arallu – En Olam Full Track Listing:

1. The Center of the Unknown
2. En Olam
3. Devil’s Child
4. Guard of She’ol
5. Vortex of Emotions
6. Achrit Ha-Yamim
7. Prophet’s Path
8. Unholy Stone
9. Trail By Slaves
10. Spells




Bandcamp | Facebook | YouTube | Satanath Records

Arallu - En Olam (Satanath Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!