Album Review: Angel Morgue – In the Morgue of Angels (Redefining Darkness Records)

Angel Morgue is a 5-piece Blasphemous Death Metal band from Manchester, New Hampshire (US), whose 2017 S/T debut cassette demo caused a bit of a stir in the underground. With a cavernous Death Metal backbone wrapped in a veil of Doom, the band weave in fibres of Black Metal that make up their own unique brand of hopelessness.

In the Morgue of Angels will be released on August 7th 2020 via Redefining Records.

Utter filth. That’s the sound that Angel Morgue can best be described as. Akin to having been dropped into a cesspool of blood, gore and faeces. The slurry thick and sludgy, where staying afloat long enough to get out is near impossible. You can try not to let any of the stinking mess get into your mouth but inevitably you’ll end up choking on it.

It’s a waking nightmare caused by the sickening combination of cavernous doom, brutal death metal and hopeless black metal. Topped off with a blatant disregard for those with softer senses and feelings.

Be warned, this is not an album to leave you with light and airy thoughts. Instead, it’s an album to drag your mind down into depressing and painful depths.

Does that mean it’s not enjoyable? Of course not. It just means you need to be in the right mood to really take something from it. Angel Morgue do a stellar job of mixing different yet similar bouts of intense heaviness and still make it sound interesting.

It might be the last thing you hear as you sink into the filthy mire but you certainly won’t forget it anytime soon.

Angel Morgue – In the Morgue of Angels Full Track Listing:

1. Lust Murder
2. Raped in Church
3. Sacrificial War of Death
4. Various Stages of Decomposition
5. Holocaust Perversions
6. The Sigil and the Key
7. Cosmic Torment
8. In the Morgue of Angels




Bandcamp | Facebook

Angel Morgue - In the Morgue of Angels (Redefining Darkness Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)