Album Review: Alluvion – The Secret’s Out (Self Released)

Alluvion is a 4-piece post-metal band formed in rural Virginia in 1999.  Mixing elements of melodic metal, doom, psych and noise rock in their sound, the band has sustained itself throughout the years with its ambitious, hard working attitude and D.I.Y. approach.

They have toured the East Coast, sharing the stage with many bands and becoming known for delivering immersive live performances.  2014 saw the release of their self-titled debut full length, followed by 2016’s Reverberations EP and 2017’s critically acclaimed  …Of the One Consciousness.  Alluvion’s latest album, The Secret’s Out, is scheduled for release on September 6th 2019.

Oooffff…The Secret’s Out sure starts with a bang. Preemptive Ascension’s fuzzy riffing, down-tuned with a kind of grungy sound to it all. Surprising catchy, it’s a bit grimy to listen too while the vocals are reminiscent of Alice in Chains’ Layne Staley.

It’s followed by the more upbeat rock and roll groove of The Purity and By Design. There’s still a certain amount of the fuzz to the guitars but here it’s less grunge and more foot-rapping rock and roll. Although in the latter they do show off some flair with some intensity in the second half of the track.

Rumbling along (quite literally with Husk), Alluvion continue the good work with catchy and unique sounding track after track. Happy to remind us of their darker side too with the likes of DIY and Weightlessness, although the latter of those two is lighter and more comfortable on the mind.

Teeth is grindingly fuzzy, the reverb on the guitars setting things on edge with a second half that sees the band reach incredibly heavy heights. It’s a similar situation with Mayday, the guitar groove deep and low, balanced well with the clean and clear vocals.

Finally the title track splits apart with booming doom blending with frantic hard rocking, one of the few times Alluvion speed up throughout. It’s the most obscure and wild the band sound and a fine way to end the album.

Alluvion – The Secret’s Out Full Track Listing:

1. Preemptive Ascension
2. The Purity
3. By Design
4. Husk
5. DIY
6. Weightlessness
7. Teeth
8. Mayday
9. The Secret’s Out




Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music | Tidal | Soundcloud | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Alluvion - The Secret's Out (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)