Album Review: Airbourne – Diamond Cuts: The B-Sides (Nettwerk Music Group)

Airbourne have carved out a nice space for themselves with the rock & metal world. Giving fans that modern, faster & more energetic AC/DC experience. The Aussies don’t take themselves too seriously & they put on a great live show.

Airbourne 1

However four full length albums in & things are getting…stale. Their last album was good but very forgettable. The shtick was feeling a little tired & a little stretched. There is very little anticipation for a new Airbourne record, something Diamond Cuts is not.

A celebration of the tenth anniversary of their huge debut, Runnin’ Wild. Diamond Cuts is a collectors edition box set that comes with the bands first three albums (Runnin’ Wild, No Guts. No Glory & Black Dog Barking), a live DVD including unseen footage & Diamond Cuts: The B-Sides.

Airbourne 3

15 rare tracks, 2 of which are previously unreleased, that will make any Airbourne fan feel instantly at home. There are few surprises here. Stand and Deliver kicks things off in high gear. It’s got that Airbourne rock & roll spirit that makes it a bouncy & fun track.

“All I’ve got is a bottle of wine…which I got from my latest crime”

It’s Airbourne! They deliver hard rock & roll tunes filled with energetic riffs & blazing solos. If you’re expecting deep & meaningful lyrics from Joel O’Keefe or much in the way of variation then this really isn’t the album for you. Dirty Angel, Heads Are Gonna Roll, Heavy Weight Lover, Loaded Gun…just some of the better bouncy rocking tunes that Diamond Cuts delivers.

Those AC/DC comparisons are impossible to deny on the likes of the sleazy sounding Red Dress Woman, the crowd-pleasing chorus led Kickin’ it Old School or the simplicity of My Dynamite Will Blow You Sky High (And Get Ya Moanin’ After Midnight).

As an accompaniment to what Airbourne have released already, Diamond Cuts is well worth checking out especially if you’re a long-time fan. It isn’t going to silence any of their critics but it’s not supposed too. It’s a celebration of all things rock and roll, a celebration of all things Airbourne.

Airbourne 4

Airbourne – Diamond Cuts: The B-Sides Full Track Listing:

1. Stand and Deliver
2. Red Dress Woman
3. Hotter Than Hell
4. Dirty Angel
5. Heads Are Gonna Roll
6. Kickin’ it Old School
7. Heavy Weight Lover
8. Devil’s Child
9. Loaded Gun
10. My Dynamite Will Blow You Sky High (And Get Ya Moanin’ After Midnight)
11. Rattle Your Bones
12. Money
13. Party in the Penthouse
14. You Got the Skills (To Pay the Bills)
15. Jack Attack

Check it out for yourself via Apple Music & pick it up via Amazon below!

[amazon_link asins=’B071S6RKZB’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’c10413d7-a7d2-11e7-bb7c-55d86bed1043′]


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Airbourne - Diamond Cuts: The B-Sides (Nettwerk Music Group)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)

Leave a Reply